top of page

Rare food binge @ Damansara Uptown


One thing is for certain: It doesn't matter if you live in some 'Ulu' place like Gombak or 30 minutes away from the likes of Bangsar or Mid Valley like yours truly - one will, definitely know how Damansara Uptown is booming with hipster cafes and eateries to satiate the hunger of a true Malaysian stomach rumble. There are hawker stalls, herbal shops, dessert corner, bistros, and cafes - basically anything you can think of, can be found within the rows of shop lots that are in Damansara Uptown's vicinity.

A buddy of ours, Philip, recently came back from the land down under for the Chinese New Year holidays and it couldn't have been a more opportune time to rendezvous at Damansara Uptown to satisfy his cravings for Malaysian food. We had planned to meet at Village Park (nasi lemak) for lunch but because my class ended an hour before our lunch meet-up, the brother and I intended to make full use of our time checking out the cafes that were around this area. From the many times we've driven here to have lunch at Village Park with my Uncle and cousins, it would be implied that dessert was to come next and this is why I've been to quite a number of places around the area - BingSu (good on a hot day - fancy ice-kacang) , Epicuro, Softsrve, A Pie Thing, The Good Batch, Every Sundae... But I wanted to try something different.

We stumbled into Rekindle after numerous times of admiring their deco and layout from afar when I pass-by on my way to Village Park. At 11.20am, we were the only ones there and apart from the friendly staff, what caught my eyes were what layed out in front of me as I was trying to decide what to order - the display of cakes and desserts. Let me emphasize on the fact that there were 'Alcoholic' options like the Chocolate Bailey's Cake, Tiramisu with Kahlua, and some other sinful indulgence with rum. There was even a Mille Crepe cake with Bacon bits & floss sprinkled on top. My bro knew in that instant he needed to try that! As for me, I chose their Sticky Date Pudding, in the end, as the barista said it as one of their best-sellers. Their drinks menu was pretty cool too - they had smoothies, teas and juices and even something called a 'Butterscotch latte' which we ordered to try. Trust me, it was delish - just the right amount of sweetness that didn't overpower the robustness of the coffee.

Sceptical as to how we are going to eat Nasi Lemak after what we just ate, we went ahead anyway. Philip and Keith arrived and we had the works - Nasi Lemak Ayam Goreng (RM9). It's undeniable that the Nasi Lemak here at Village Park is overpriced but for the portion and for how good it tastes, you somehow find a sense of calm in knowing that your meal was worth the price. Well for a cheaper option, there's Bumbung Nasi Lemak (RM7 - it used to be RM5) and for an even cheaper option, just take a walk along your neighbourhood and you're sure to find a makcik selling 'nasi lemak' somewhere, for only RM1.

I had thought that the Nasi Lemak was all we were going to be meeting up over but I should've known better. Keith craved juice next and I managed to scout for a juice bar a 2 minute's walk away from Village Park called Juicyfy. From it's outlook, this juice bar looked like a dry-cleaner but I was quickly impressed by the options of juice combinations to choose from. The lady behind the counter even gave us testers to try out. The boys finally settled for:

A few hours later, having spotted an ice-cream parlour called Hail's, I couldn't help myself. I had to go and try it out, especially seeing pictures of their softserves being Instagram-ed so often, showing up on my timeline. How in the world can I ignore the sight of them when they all looked so good?!

I had such a hard time choosing a softserve base but in the end settled for the Black Sesame flavour, and it was decorated with Green tea cookie crumbs, salted caremel popcorn and a matcha marshmallow stuck to it's side, called the 'J-Pop'.

As delicious as it was, it'll be sometime before I ever make a pit-stop here for dessert again due to it's price. This whole creation came up to RM17. I couldn't bought a whole meal with that price but since it was just something I wanted to try on a whim, I didn't feel so bad. I'd much rather (and willingly) go to Softsrve and order myself a cup of that yummy 'Teh Tarik' flavour if I crave so strongly for a dessert. If not, McD's RM1 cone vanilla ice-cream would do the trick.

Binges like these burn big holes in my wallet but thankfully they don't happen so often. This is a reminder to not only treat yourself every once in awhile but to also do things out of your strict routine when you get the chance. A cheat-day won't routine your goal. Just make sure you go to bed, get up the next day and hustle.

Now, bring on the Chinese New Year holiday season! xx

Got it! Thanks loves.

bottom of page