top of page

How to be a Shopaholic...


...the sensible way.

First off, I don't even know if the title itself makes sense but I'm crossing my fingers and toes that the following contents do.

__________

Channeling my inner Rebecca Bloomwood from Confessions of a Shopaholic, I can safely say that I've walked a mile in her shoes especially when it comes down to (with the voices of the two dudes from White Chicks, say...) SHOPPING!

When I'm present in a mall, I feel in the zone. I spend so much time in most malls that I know it like the back of my hand, especially KLCC, MidV and Pavillion. Ask me where a shop is or if it's in the mall, and I could probably be your personal directory.

I'm like Ariel, wanting gadgets and gizmos aplenty. When I walk into my favorite stores and as my shoulders brush against each and every fabric that has been hung out on display or run my hands over those neatly folded cashmere sweaters, so soft and smooth to a human touch, all I can think about is how they'd look good in my closet. Before I can even decide to get it, I imagine all the occasions I could wear it to and immediately, as fate would have it, it has been decided for me.

The pure thrill and Cheshire-cat grin that dawns on my face when I buy myself a new piece of clothing or treat myself to something expensive only lasts about a few hours because then my hand would have accidentally slipped into my pocket and I'd realize what a huge hole I've burnt in it.

Although I've never (God forbid) resorted to anything dramatic like surviving on bread and water for a month, I feel the pinch. And as I am now starting to earn my own money and have to forego the monthly allowance I used to get from my parents, that pinch is starting to turn into a bruise.

So instead of burning holes like nobody's business, these are some of the things I do.

So, for girls like me, this is from me to you.

1. 24 hour policy

Practiced in most retail outlets, a customer is allowed to keep their 'items of interest' at the cashier for about 24 hours. All you have to do is write your name and contact number and the decision at the end of the day is yours, either to get it or not.

When I visit my favourite stores, I almost never leave empty handed and being indecisive leaves me at a horrible disadvantage. So if I've finally found something I like and am keen on getting it, I'll leave it at the cashier. Within 24 hours, if I come back to get it, then I must have really needed it (or so I tell myself). But if I don't (most of the time), I can live without it.

2. Give & take - H&M 15% off clothes exchange policy

This 'Recycle clothes' policy in H&M has got to be one of the smartest ways to get people to donate their old clothes, for a 15% off voucher to buy more stuff from H&M. 15% may not be much to some but to most, it's still a discount and who can complain about that?!

All you have to do is raid your closet for things you no longer wear/can't fit, fill up a H&M bag and bring it to your nearest stores.

*there is no limit as to how much goes into a bag, as long as it's filled up. So load em' up!

3. Return, when you've already done the damage.

But what happens when you've acted on a whim and before you know it, your card has been swiped and you just remembered that you had to used that money for more important errands?

Fret not, because as long as you keep your receipts, you are entitled to return it for your money back or exchange it for something else, as some retail outlets don't give refunds (or they make it real difficult for you to get it!)

If it's Sephora, you can return/exchange your goods within 14 days upon presenting your receipt and only if your goods pristine condition. If it's a refund you want, don't bother. Take it from me. I was advised the other day that if I were to return my stuff (a makeup palette) for my money back, my request would have to go through a whole line of procedures which would take at least 3 months to be processed. I was like, "Screw this!".

If it's Zalora, as a customer, you can either exchange it for something else or return the goods for in-store credit. They would give you an option of whether you want your money back or in-store credit, so that when you shop the next time, you can use it for your next purchase instead of swiping your card again. I think that's pretty reasonable, no?

Speaking of Zalora, this leads me to my next point.

4. Shopping cart whore

Whenever I scroll through my fav online websites (not only Zalora), I usually *heart* everything I like and it goes straight to my shopping cart. And when I'm done scrolling, I visit my shopping cart to screen through what I actually need and don't need. Most of the time, I leave it there for about a day or two and if I forget about it, I anticipate my pockets singing high praises.

This has helped me save so much of money because when all your wants are in one place, and the amount you have to pay is directly staring at you, you realize that you will never need as much.

Following point 3. Return policy, post-damage...

5. Make money from it.

Remember the saying, 'One man's junk is another man's treasure'? Well, it's so true. What you may not like to wear anymore may be something entirely new to someone else. And why not grab this opportunity to make a little pocket money from it?

Online sites such as Carousel let's you upload pictures of your pre-loved items where you then have to write a description of it and name your price. Simple.

*Tip: make sure your pictures are clear and always reply ASAP.

Visit my Carousel shop, https://carousell.com/krissyaly747

3. Donate to charity

Otherwise, there's always an option of donating it to charities. There are so many underprivileged kids/adults out there whom would kill for a piece of clothing on their backs or for something to keep them warm at night.

If you have more than you need and want to make someone's day a little chirpier or brighter, find it in your heart to give, give and give...and don't expect anything in return.

______________

What with the Merdeka Sale going on and sales in lieu of Malaysia Day, this whole month feels like a booby trap. I may be doomed as well, actually but I hope these helped you ladies a little.

Happy shopping! heh.

Love always xx, Krissy

Got it! Thanks loves.

bottom of page