top of page

True blood.


The skies are slowly turning from hues of blue to allowing the sun to break through. I'm seated in my car, parked at the far end of the Kuala Lumpur International Airport main entrance, anxiously waiting to meet her. I've waited for over half an hour and I still don't see her in sight but I tell myself that if I could have gone a lifetime not knowing her, the moments that lead up to the day I finally do are every bit meaningful in comparison.

I sit in the driver's seat, humming to my favourite songs, trying to calm myself down but my mind's running on overdrive; my palms are all sweaty and I start getting fidgety. I think of all the things I'm going to say to her, hoping it comes out right when the words actually fall from my mouth. Do I run towards her and give her a warm hug or do I just shake her hand? I don't know.

But when I least expect her to appear, there she is right before my eyes - walking towards the car. I get out of the driver's seat to give her a tight hug and we are holding back tears.

So this is what it feels like meeting my aunt for the first time in forever.

After collecting myself, I help her load her luggage into the boot and I spend the whole journey back to the city just talking to her. Our conversation sails smoothly; a constant repetition of a question followed by an answer. She asks me about what do I do, who my friends are, and what I like to eat. Small talk. But the last question was the most crucial because I was famished and what better way than to carry-on a conversation over a hot meal.

This lady I sit across from is Aunty Yvonne. Yes she is my aunt - my dad's sister (birth sister). But this is the first time we're meeting each other. At birth, over 50 years ago, my dad was given away to another family to be taken cared of. It was not as bad as it sounds - he was given to his birth mum's cousin; a woman who couldn't have kids for the longest time but after welcoming my dad into her home, was blessed with 3 other children that followed year after year. And only after 53 years, the dots managed to get connected once again.

As I sit across from her, I can't help but smile at the ease our conversation flows with. We laugh and share stories like girlfriends whom have known each other in forever but I guess that's the bond 'family' has - no matter where you are in this world, or how long you've been apart, once you're reconnected, it's like no time has passed and there's never any awkwardness when you pick up where you left off.

It is the same with my dad's brother too, Uncle David - whom he recently got reconnected with. When I first met him in March 2015, we were at Mandarin Oriental KL. It was a big day for my dad - he was meeting his brother for the first time. My mum and I tagged along, for moral support, but we were just as anxious. When Uncle David finally appeared from the corner of the lobby, dad walked over and they met in the middle for the tightest embrace one brother could give another. Anyone who witnessed that moment would have been in tears - I know I couldn't help myself with the water works. It was so beautiful because in that moment, my dad got his brother back.

Soon after, all our families met albeit in different parts of the world and my dad soon realized he had gained so much more than just a brother and a sister for now he was also linked to almost 20 over half-siblings - same father, different mother or same mother, different father; either way, still siblings, nonetheless.

So I finish my meal and in true Aunty Yvonne spirit, we move on to our next course - dessert. We take her to only the best places to satiate her cravings for all-things Malaysian. Think: goreng pisang, cendol, nasi lemak. The day ends with a scrumptious meal of home-cooked dishes and endless servings of Chinese Tea. They reminisce on the good old days and share stories about the childhood they missed together, the mischief they could have been up to of and we all fall into a string of laughter. Jokes fly across the room, back and forth, like a game of ping-pong. Everyone in the room has someone to talk to. I love the smiles I see on their faces, the hearty laughs and the lame jokes. Dinners have never really been like this before. There used to only be the sound of clanging cutlery or loud chewing because there was nothing much to exchange over dinner unless it's the passing of sauces or dishes. This is a good change for sure, and at nights like these, I went home feeling like I always do whenever I'm with them - grateful.

The days that followed in the week she was with us were a lot like the first. Dad and I were around most of the time to be at her beck and call. Despite the convenience of Uber or Grab, we were always around whenever she needed to go from one place to another - to exploring parts of the city to just catching up with relatives. We made her feel like she never left. When the weekend came around, everyone in the family decided to gather and take a MRT trip to Kajang just for the satays. The things my family would do in the name of food is unbelievable. But if the Gods claim food to be the one thing that brings people together, I'd never doubt otherwise.

That night, Aunty Yvonne gathered Claire and I to join her ladies for a night out in the city - Changkat, Bukit Bintang. Her bunch of best girlfriends whom have seen her through every season of life surely showed us how to have fun. They took my sister and I dancing at a Latin bar they used to dance at when they all went out for ladies night back in the day. They were reminiscing the good old days and taking my sister and I along for the ride. Never have I ever enjoyed myself this much - especially with an aunt. I was having too much fun to keep track of time and by the time we got home, the sun was almost up. I payed for it the next day but during moments like this, you don't think. You just live. And I have no regrets.

The best part about her trip home to KL was that she was even around for a really big interview I had to ace. I can never express my gratitude enough for the fact she was up early enough to help me tie my hair up into a bun, to check if my outfit was on-point and to pump me up with encouragement before I left. I was so anxious but because of her, I started the day with a really good mood and an even better mood when I found out I aced the interview. This was a big moment. And I was glad I got to share it with her.

A week with her just passed me by in a blink of an eye and she has now safely returned home to her life in the UK but when we hugged and parted ways, I know deep down it's never really goodbye - just a 'see you soon'.

So now every year I'll wait - I'll look forward to the next time she says she is coming down and we all look forward to spending time with her. After over 50 years of being apart, this is what making up for lost time feels like- it's like we've never lost anything at all and are just starting to make memories.

Love always, Krissy xx

Got it! Thanks loves.

bottom of page