top of page

Skin-to-skin // Cancan's beauty


Homegrown Malaysian brands have come a long way from the get-go and are finally getting the recognition they deserve. Before you choose to support a brand, it's always essential that you learn about them through and through and not just take them at face-value. What struck a chord to jump on-board this band-wagon with Cancan's Handmade Beauty was the story about how they came about.

As much as we choose to look on the brighter side of things - literally and figuratively - we live in a day and age where although discrimination is not as challenging as centuries ago where the colour of your skin was a sheer-sign of how you'd be treated as a human being, it is still very much an issue till this very day, albeit watered-down. The snarky comments, the "You're really pretty for a dark-skinned girl", the "you can't pull of this look because of your skin tone". WHAT?!

Born from a boombox, Cancan's Beauty was crafted solely with the intention to make caramel-skinned beauties feel at home - leaving no room for comparison to those with a lighter skin tone or to make them feel isolated. With this line of beauty products, caramel babes get to OWN IT.

'On-The-Go' has a velvet matte finish with a sweet, sultry take to the candy-floss pink and below, 'Universal' is a shimmery gloss that layers your lips like a coat of sweet sweet honey. Proven to be suitable for all types of skin-tones, these beautiful shades compliment your looks from dusk till' dawn.

The brand dedicates their whole entity to not only making a woman look good, but allowing them to feel freakin' amazing. The secret (well, it's not really a secret but ya know what I mean) behind this feel-good product has everything to do with the fact they are 100% vegetarian and cruelty-free. I will repeat myself, loud and proud: 100% VEGETARIAN & CRUELTY-FREE.

In all honesty, although the awareness is growing and people are slowly coming around to being more mindful about what they apply on their skin, it's still inevitable that there are a majority of them that couldn't give two-hoots. Sometimes, I am guilty of this too.

But what changed my whole perspective was an encounter at a local drugstore on a day out around town, where I witnessed for myself a woman whose lips was as black as midnight due to an allergic reaction to a Maybelline lipstick. Now, don't get me wrong, I'm not saying that Maybelline lipsticks would undoubtedly have that affect on everyone. All I'm saying that everyone reacts to a certain product differently, no matter the ingredients.

So having said that, why not be more mindful about what you put on the first thing that people would notice about you - your face? Your money-maker doesn't always have to be your derrière.

Although like Greek, these ingredients have been approved by MOH and I can safely say they won't agitate your skin, no matter how sensitive you are.

But just in case you need to know what does, here's a list:

  • Phthalates. ...

  • Lead (usually found in Red lipsticks)

  • Quaternium-15 and Other Formaldehyde-Releasing Preservatives.

  • PEG Compounds (common in cream-based products)

  • Butylated Compounds (BHT, BHA)

  • Parabens.

On my lips: 'On The Go'

1. Velvet Matte Finish - what this means is that when you rub your lips together, there won't be any stickiness as when you apply glosses. One application on both your upper and lower lip and you're good to go!

2. Weightless - Unlike most matte lipsticks which clump-up and dry your lips upon application, these Velvet Matte Lipsticks leave you feeling like there's nothing on your lips. It is THAT weightless.

3. Kiss Proof - Best believe this because I've tried it! And even after a good snogging-session, this does not smear and turn you into Ronald McDonalds or his better half.

______________________

Peep the pictures below to check out my take on these lippies and the look I paired it with:

LIPS: I mixed the 'On The go' Velvet Matte Lipstick together with the 'Universal' gloss. It's my current favourite combo and doesn't make me look like I'm trying too hard or make me look like I'm going to the Chinese Opera House - for that, I'd always be grateful.

EYES: I played with the Glam X Cosmetics palette in Baddie ; this palette gives me the best of both worlds with a combination of matte and metallic finishes, serving up earthy tones with a touch of peachy, tangerine pops + champagne pinks.

Personally, I adore how sweet and subtle the colour of my lips look with the choice of eyeshadow colour I chose for the day. Most of the time, this is my go-to look - simple, natural, everyday makeup look. I like how I can throw on whatever type of clothing with this look and it's a GO!

Effortless.

Love always, K xx

Got it! Thanks loves.

bottom of page