top of page

IT'S THE SHIP 2018


WARNING: IT'S THE SHIP WITHDRAWALS, at an all-time high.

Last weekend, I returned from the mini getaway I've been looking forward to ever since my spot was confirmed. I arrived back at shore with a heavy heart but one that was happy to be home, nonetheless.

That's what 4 days and 3 nights of mayhem at sea for It's The Ship 2018 would do to one person but it was the kind of once-in-a-lifetime experience I knew I could not pass up on.

The days that lead up to the event was filled with so much stress about practically anything and everything - about what to wear, what to pack, how to get around. But on the day itself, I'd give my girls and I a pat on our backs for having the two cents of setting off to Singapore a day earlier. And because of that, we got to avoid all the hassle that comes with rushing and doing things at the last minute. This also comes with the benefit of having family/friends in Singapore too.

When we arrived in sunny Singapore, we went straight to where we'd be residing for the night (Thank you, Kobe) And conveniently, it was at Bugis - the only no-brainer place in Singapore I'd willingly go to without any mission or purpose because there's always something to do there. I met Amanda's very hospitable friends and after napping the evening away, we ran the night. I was so looking forward to attending the #It'sTheShip2018 Pre-party with Cash Cash but it being held at Zouk and the fact that it was quite a distance for us was such a turn-off. So we ended up at Commas instead.

The night started off on a good note but I can't say the same for it's end. Apart from the good beats and one too many drinks, we were doomed when one of our boys was at the wrong place at the wrong time. But I shall leave that story for another day.

The next morning, running on only 3 hours of sleep, we had to get ready and rush out the door bright and early. When one of your girls has a 10am call-time, you get up and get dragged along. No questions asked. We dreaded it but we were so thankful in the end because we got to avoid being in line for so long and had more time to relax before things picked up it's crazy pace.

Fast forward: 4pm.

DAY 1.

We boarded the ship and checked into our rooms. I shared a cozy little cabin with Amanda at the Lower Deck 5 (meaning, no windows and you won't know if it's day or night unless you look at the clock) We were close enough to the sea to feel every wave and hear every roaring engine of the ship. Noisy, but we made do. After fairly deciding which side of the bed we'd be occupying and roughly unpacking, we decided to do the one thing we've been looking forward to: THE BUFFET.

The 24 hour buffet was located at the Upper Deck on Level 16 and the huge array of choices were impeccable. I was so spoilt for choice that I wanted to eat everything but the only problem I had was that my stomach did not match how greedy I was. You know the saying, "Big eyes, small stomach". That was exactly it!

They had different sections for different cuisines - Chinese, Indian, Western. My personal favourites were the Western and Indian cuisine where they had mussels cooked in every damn style possible and Palak Paneer because the Indian in me came out to play during those 4 days at sea. Don't even get me started on the dessert - they had ice-cream, fruits, cakes, traditional sweet treats. Every meal was a struggle to decide what to eat, especially with such a variety. But my stomach could not have been happier - minus the part where it was a struggle to fit into our bikinis later on, that is.

When the sun had set, most of us gathered on the Upper Deck, where the Main Stage and pool was located at. Always with a drink in our hand, we were either soaking it up in the jacuzzi or mingling with our new shipmates. Sick beats by Tony Junior and Showtek playing right before us at the Main Stage was a sweet treat too. My girls and I came prepared with outfits for almost every theme party there was and the first one for tonight would be Onesie Party we were so eager to go for. I showed up as a Tiger, twinning with Cam while Amanda came as a Penguin.

That night, I partied with Cam and her Baby Shark boys. We were all supposed to stick together but with the under-performing Wifi connection and loud music, everyone got a little carried away and hard to handle. Drinks always come your way when you're a girl, ALWAYS. And you either accept them and party along or turn them down. I've never been one to turn down a drink but I'd like to think that I'm a sensible drinker who knows her own limit.

I was on a good high but so exhausted at the same time. So by 3am, despite all the other acts coming on afterwards, I went back to my cabin to call it a night.

DAY 2.

Amanda and I somehow managed to wake up bright and early. We made it to the buffet line to grab something to eat and I think we literally GRABBED everything. There was dim sum, croissants, a friggin' muesli and yogurt bar, waffles, cold cuts... the list goes on. And coffee. You always got to have coffee. But honestly though, I would have opted for fresh juice but the only juices that were displayed were made from cordial. So, no thanks.

Towards mid-day, we made our way to the other end of the ship to participate in some of the activities they had going on. Amanda was a good sport when it came to going for yoga with me (so important that you have friends who like the same things you do) and then after a good sweat session, we were on a roll and wanted to do more. So, wall-climbing it was! We made it all the way to the end - from the easy level to the hardest. It was a struggle and we discovered that we really lacked upper-body strength no matter how fit we were.

We were zonked but it was lunchtime and I was so stoked - too stoked that I didn't care if I missed out on the Foam Party at Deck 17. Instead of changing into my swimsuit and joining my friends out on the sun-deck, I decided to take a nap to recharge for the eventful night ahead. I foresee a night of no sleep.

When evening came, my circle of friends randomly decided to get off at Phuket. I, on the other hand, opted out. I stayed back with some other friends and thought I'd get a chance to utilize the wifi better without so many people on-board. Heh.

After 4 hours, Amanda, Cam and the boys were back and that night, I made it a point to go for as many sets before my body decided that it needed sleep. To my surprise, I made it for 3 events - Cash Cash, Ph4ntam and the Traffic Light Party. I have been looking forward to watch Cash Cash live for years and I've been waiting for this day ever since the cruise started. I was also secretly hoping to bump into them but because I have no idea how they look like, I could've already crossed paths with them at the buffet line for all I know.

Regardless, it was a dream come true when they came on. I knew every song they played by hard and was so happy I finally got to sing-along to a set I was present for. I'd post some videos here but most of them have my annoying voice in the background so I'll save myself from the eye-rolls.

Then there was Ph4ntam, whose set was a Hawaiian themed party. My girls and I came in whatever floral top/shirt we could find and made it work. Upon entry, they gave us 'Lei'; a wreath of flowers as a Hawaiian welcome gift and a goodie bag of poppers. Having just met him, I soon realized that I've been friends with his girlfriend for years and that we all had mutual friends in the group. Cool set-list, and an even cooler man. No doubt about it.

Towards the end of my night, I ended up at the Traffic Light Party at the Silk Road (Deck 6). Upon entering, you would be given a choice of neon bands to wear on your wrist. Choose 1 from the following:

1. Red - Alcoholic

2. Amber - Maybe, baby

3. Green - DTF

And guess what, they even gave us girls Vibrators upon entry. Definitely one of the most interesting door gifts I've ever received from an event!

DAY 3.

I woke up to the realization that it would be my last full day on the cruise and that all this fun is going to end real soon. It was a bittersweet feeling. But putting my feelings aside, I was up and running around at 9am. Amanda was still rolling in bed, feeling under the weather. While she continued to rest, I took the time to go up to the buffet hall and have breakfast on my own. After all, I could use the time alone to journal and catch-up on the days I've missed so far.

I spent a good hour or two on my own before my table was bombarded by a group of noisy party-goers who were clearly stoked for the day ahead. No amount of coffee could make me tolerate this much noise so early in the morning. So I excused myself. It was Deepavali back at home and I was hoping to get enough reception to call home. But back in my room, Amanda was still resting. And I thought I'd ought to leave her to rest in peace and quiet.

I made my way to Deck 18 on my own at noon, to attend the Barre Workout class. I did not know what I got myself into until the end of the class. It was so much more challenging than compared to the Yoga session the day before. I struggled the whole way but there's a sense of accomplishment when you stick to something that's tough and you make it through regardless. I was so glad I made it through, with new friends by my side.

After the workout, I still had so much time on my hands. I took the liberty to explore every nook and crannie of the ship and made my way to floors I did not need to be on. If you have known me long enough, you would know how much I love finding secret pathways and exploring places that are out of the public eye - rooftops/secret pathways, you get the drift. What with all that I managed to discover, it was pointless without my partner in crime who was on land.

Towards the evening, Amanda was feeling so much better and was determined to not waste the last few hours we had staying in the room, no matter how horrible she was feeling. A real trooper, I tell you. We got our butts to the Hip Hop Bloc Party where we got to catch Big Shaq and Nahsyk do their thing. The crowd was half of that usually present at the Main Deck but the crowd was pumping, nonetheless.

When you go for a Hip Hop party, you have to be prepared to dance - ALOT. And that's exactly what we did. So tired after, we needed to refuel for the night. We thought we'd treat ourselves to a hearty dinner, especially it being the last night and all.

Despite packing gowns and a masquerade mask for the Gala Dinner, we didn't manage to go in the end because no one else was up for it except for me.

The party had started at the Main Deck long before I joined in. For the 3rd night, it was all Trans music and in all honesty, I'm not really a big fan. If anything, I stayed because of my circle of friends and for the booze. And plus, I spent most of the time in the jacuzzi to care anyways.

But just for the record, I at least got to watch Reyza, Vini Vici, Paul Van Dyk and Bass Agents. As bad as I am with names, I'm proud to say I know these few.

The next day, we had to pack all our bags and pay all the necessary bills before the ship reached the dock. Amanda and I had a good system going: we decided to pack first and then go up for breakfast. There was no rush but it's always advisable to get everything sorted out to avoid standing in line for so long. And if you needed assistance with your baggage, it was best to keep it outside of your cabin before 12pm. We did all the necessary so when it was time to say goodbye to the ship and to our shipmates, it was a breeze.

Leaving with a heavy heart, I caught my flight back to KL a few hours later but I could not have been happier to be home.

It's The Ship 2018 was definitely the highlight of my year, among many other outstanding events. And it's definitely one I'd love to relive again, if the opportunity comes my way.

*fingers and toes crossed*

P.S - All pictures taken from It's The Ship Facebook page + my own.

Love always, K

Got it! Thanks loves.

bottom of page