top of page

Classpass // ONE MONTH


So if you have been following me through my Instagram Stories and feed, you would have noticed that I'm at a different workout or at a different gym every single day. When I told my dad what I've been up to, all he said was, "WHAT? Are you crazy?" Haha. I love his reactions towards what I choose to do just as I love how my decisions have given him one too many mini heart-attacks (okay, I'm kidding. Sorry dad)

Okay, back to my point.

What I'm trying to say is that this has all been made possible thanks to the Classpass App. When I signed up for Classpass mid- Nov, I received 1 Month with 150 credits as their Free Trial. This gave me the privilege to pick and choose whatever workout I wanted to do, wherever I wanted. Best part about this deal = everything was MY CHOICE.

One whole month of free workout classes was a pretty sweet deal.

Utilizing this offer to it's full potential, I made it a point to try a different gym/workout every day. No matter how busy I was, no matter by hook or crook, I made it to my workout. So here is the list of workouts and fitness studios I've been to and my take on the most challenging to the ones that just weren't for me.

1. HIIT2Fit KL - HIIT X

At this rather pumping fitness studio, I managed to make it for 2 of the same classes - HIIT X - and both by the same instructor, Wayne. The studio itself is a little smaller than most of the other fitness studios/gyms but for the classes they cater for - Mean, Lean and HIIT - they have just the right amount of space.

Each workout was held in a dimly lit room, with energetic music blaring through the speakers. For HIIT, we started off with a quick warm up before we spent 8 minutes on various weight-training moves and then another 8 mins running on the treadmill. As long as you choose the right amount of weights you can handle, you'd be able to go about the workout just fine without burning yourself out. I just can't say the same for when we were thrown onto the treadmill to run for 8 mins - mind you, I run but this time, I DIED.

When I went for my first HIIT X class, I couldn't even run for 2 mins (I'd blame the fact that I skipped lunch but I think it was just my pathetic stamina) The sides of my stomach hurt so bad and I had to get off the treadmill to do rows instead. But during the second class, I managed to do it all without passing out before the timer rang. I struggled but I survived.

After the storm was over, what I was so thankful for was the cool-down where we had to do a normal 1 min plank or switch it up a little, by moving your hips from side-to-side, touching the ground on alternative sides.

The moment Wayne said the class was over, I was outta there.

If you like heart-pumping, fast and intense workouts like I do, you should probably try the HIIT class. And if you're a beast and like a challenge, the MEAN class would probably change your mind after.

2. Playground Fitness - 4 Play, Power Play, Sweet Mess.

Voted one of the toughest workout classes in KL, The Playground Fitness definitely lives up to it's title. No matter what class you choose to go for, you'd be in for a killer workout session.

I've made it a point to choose workouts at Playground more frequently than others, simply because of how good I feel after, having completed each session. When I went for my first class - Power Play - we had a session outdoors due to some maintenance work in the studio. It was a nice change but that didn't mean the session was any easier to pull through. Think combinations of frog jumps, Spiderman push-ups, crunches, and a bunch of other movements my mind's too blurry to recall cause I think I must have blacked out. And then think of the sticky-icky sweat puddles we left.

I felt the same way during a 4 Play and a Sweet Mess session - Tired but oh-so accomplished.

The classes start off with a warm up led by the instructor and then he/she demonstrates the moves we'd be doing for the class. Once the timer starts, we just have to give it our all and rest when the minute is over. Then for the cool-down, instead of the usual standing deep breaths, we lay down, place one hand on our stomach and one hand on our heart, and just inhale and exhale until we're told to get up.

Sweet Mess - High Intensity Functional Training; maximum burn, minimum time.

Power Play - High Intensity Circuit Training + Power Core.

4 Play - Strength training; lean muscle gain.

Having only had the opportunity to book these classes, I can safely say that they are all equally challenging but no matter the day and no matter your end goal, going for whatever class at Playground will bring you one step closer to your fitness goal.

Also, refuel yourself after with La Juiceria Signature just next door.

3. Evolvr - Circuit Training and Strength Training.

When I first walked into Evolvr for a weekend morning sweat session, I didn't know what I'd be in for. The studio was so clean and aesthetically pleasing to the eyes. And have you seen their lockers? Dang, I love it - my fav: Chris Brown.

For my first visit to Evolvr, I was an over-achiever who booked 2 classes back-to-back. I thought that just 30 minutes of training would not be enough to feel the burn but boy, was I WRONG! I jumped into the Strength Training (Lower Body) for my first session which was as challenging as they said it would be, but thank heavens for short rest breaks in between sets. I also would not have lasted to the very end if it weren't for the support of my workout buddy and the coach himself, who were so hands-on when it came to teaching us the proper techniques and encouraging us when we were about to give up.

The Circuit Training is one where you can just jump in, whenever you're ready. On the screens above, there are warm-up moves to follow and when you're done, you can just jump in and begin, following the timer. I thoroughly enjoyed the different stations that were set up and how I got to do different movements that targeted my whole body in its entirety.

I was so happy when the timer stopped but I was even happier that I completed it.

4. Fire Station 1 - ELEV8 and FORCE

I booked a workout at this studio by chance, because of the time I could make it back from work and because of it's strategic location to where I was coming from. Fire Station doesn't exactly look like your typical fire station with fire engines and an escape hatch in the middle of the flooring. This fitness studio exudes passion and aims to ignite the fire within you as well as your inner motivation. Clean and orderly, I appreciated how properly organised all their equipment were and how standardized they looked.

I've made it for 2 classes over the past month and I can't stress how impactful their workouts were, given the short amount of time each session was (30 mins). For each session, we started off with a warm up to get our heart-rates up and then the real training begins. Every move challenges you to go one step further; it helps that they have very fit trainers and good music selections too.

Once over, the coach guides you through a cool-down and just as you're about to leave, they hand you a chilled wet towel. I must say, I enjoyed this the most. Nothing more soothing than wiping your sweaty self with a cold towel - best feeling ever.

5. Be Urban Wellness - HIIT and Grid Training.

In all honesty, I would have never booked a workout session here if it weren't for the fact that it was only 5 mins away from where I was in Damansara. And because of this, I was allowed to take my time and leave 10 mins before class started without worrying about being stuck in a jam.

When I made my way up to the workout studio, I noticed how it's interior was so beautifully welcoming. This gym is well-equipped with top-notch gym equipment and you even get to workout with the view of the beautiful KL skyline. As for the workout, I made it late to a few classes but I got to jump right in and complete every session - dead, of course. Especially the class with Tissie one evening.

After class, I took the liberty to check out the other floors of Be Urban Wellness because it's not only a fitness studio but also a spa. They have a beautiful pool on the lower deck, overlooking the city skyline. The pool closes at 8pm and most of the time, that's when the workout session ends so try going for an earlier class to also enjoy a little dip after - I'd know for sure because one day I had to sneak to the poolside for a swim and to just lay at the bed-floaties to enjoy the view of the moon above me and city before me. After a gruesome workout session, that was well-deserved.

In the changing room, just as I was about to visit the loo, I was stopped in my tracks by how grand this changing room was furnished. There was a Jacuzzi, with a pretty chandelier hanging from the ceiling and also a steam room beside it. Plus, a dressing table that was well thought out with a hairdryer, cotton pads, makeup remover and even pins. WHAT?!

This is definitely one of the most beautiful gyms/fitness studios I've been to, by far. If you want to squeeze in a good workout and then pamper yourself after, this is definitely the place for you.

6. Crazy Monkey Defense - Kettlebells (Beginner)

This class was booked at the very last minute, when all the other classes were fully booked. Of all the classes I've been to, finding parking at this particular one was a pain. In it's immediate vicinity, there were other fitness studios such as The Flow Studio and Fitology so imagine when each studio had classes scheduled at the same time? Horrible.

Making it on time for class, I soon realized that this was the smallest class I've been to - just my workout buddy and I as first-timers and two other regular goers. This gave us a more hands-on session with the trainer himself as we focused on the lifting mechanics and safety protocols to establish a solid foundation before we can go for the Advanced Class.

By attending this class, I learned the proper form to hold a kettlebell and how to use it without injuring my back, my wrist as well as my knees. Despite aching everywhere after that session irregardless, this is a good class to attend before you get into the rhythm of working out regularly.

And when you're done with class, there's Rawsome just next door.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________

YOGA / PILLATES / BARRE

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________

7. Urban Spring - Xtend Barre Fundamental

Ever since getting a taste of Barre on It's The Ship during a workout session, I've always wanted to tryout a class on Classpass. Especially at this studio, seeing as it's so hard to book a class here.

I was particularly intrigued by the Hot Barre class but it's always scheduled at the time when I'm still at work so I never got the chance. As for this Xtend Barre Fundamental, it just so happened to be my lucky day as when I got there, the class was so packed.

(It's still empty because this time, I was so early for class)

The studio has so much beach vibes with rattan essentials and a nice open reception area for people to mingle and gather around.

As for the class, it was filled with movements that made a very huge impact on my legs and abs. Using props such as light weights and balls were an added bonus. We had to do so many sumo squats, relevé's and leg lifts in the air that I couldn't feel my legs after. From working our legs, we then worked our abs with customized versions of a usual crunch, scissor kicks, heel touches etc. I was in pain. But with this class, I finally felt like I got in a good workout session.

Among all the other yoga classes I've been to, I have a sweet spot for this one - for how intense the class was and how attentive the lovely instructor (Farah) was. If you've not tried Barre, it's a combination of Yoga and Pilates moves which make it a good challenge as long as you're a good sport.

8. Hot Yo Studio - Restorative Yoga

When I first signed up for Classpass, this was the first workout class I went for with Amanda and her friends, Adrian and Mark. I drove straight to the studio after work and was lucky enough to find a parking spot right in front of the studio, otherwise it would have been a nightmare.

The studio has a minimalist setting, with all things either black or white, from the flooring, window panes to the props we used to work out with. Even their changing room was aesthetic, with well-stocked toiletries and huge mirrors for selfie opportunities when you and your girlfriends go to change. I utilized it, for sure.

[I gotta give a shoutout to the receptionist who had to deal with my registration issue. Whoever you are man, thank you.]

During the class, I managed to keep up with the Yogi but as the poses and movements got harder, I struggled. The class was 1 hour long but I didn't even manage to break a sweat as much as I'd like to.

In the end, all I got were aches and pains that I didn't appreciate. This was a class I learned that no matter how beneficial yoga is, it's just not for me.

9. Fit Hub - Aerial Yoga

I was pretty ecstatic to go for this class. I've only ever tried Aerial Yoga once before and it gave me such a good stretch in my inner thighs that I couldn't walk properly for a few days after.

It's not that I forgot the feeling when I booked this class but I think I'm just a sucker for pain.

The class was conducted by a guy who put even the most flexible girl to shame. He was so limber that I doubted if he had a backbone in the first place. It's so rare to see a guy conducting a class such as this; seeing him floating in the air like a butterfly and being oh-so graceful. But I have to hand it to him for being so attentive even though it was a full house that day.

The different movements he guided us through were doable, however there were some that only looked easy but really took a toll on my inner thighs and legs - you have to wrap your legs with the cloth and that's how you'll lift yourself up and upside down (if that's how you roll)

I didn't get much out of this class other than unwanted aches and pains but for first-timers to Aerial Yoga, it's worth a try.

10. Beyond Movement KL - Equipment and Mat (Mixed Levels)

People usually have a 'Bucket List' for places they'd like to visit or things they'd want to accomplish before they die. But I have a 'Bucket List' for workouts I'd like to try out. Hah.

And this class was exactly it. Ever since I watched a workout video of Hollywood star Jessica Lowdes doing pilates with the Reformer, I've always wanted to try it out myself. Other than the Reformer, other equipment included the arch to rest your spine and a light ball for small, lower-impact movements.

For this class, we started out with the Arch where we were instructed to lower our spine from an upright position, vertebrae by vertebrae. This would definitely put your core muscles to the test - I knew how weak my core was when I kept vibrating as I lowered my back down. Then onto the ball, which we used just as a prop actually.

Towards the end of the class, we finally used the Reformer. It was fun learning which colored spring to keep on and which to unhook, following instructions from the instructor, of course. And also the part where there were bands for our arms, and little pieces added to the Reformer to work our entire body. I definitely felt like a little kid being exposed to something new. But apart from that, the workout did not do much for me.

I walked out of the studio unsatisfied as I still felt the same way I came in - no aches or pains and without a drop of sweat.

Perhaps I lack the patience and capacity to appreciate the gracefulness and gentleness that sums up workouts such yoga/Pilates in it's entirety but for those of you who want to try it out or know that it is for you, by all means... YOU DO YOU.

P.S - This is not a Sponsored post - just Krissy's two-cents.

Love, K xx

Got it! Thanks loves.

bottom of page