top of page

How now brown cow?


I've never really been adventurous when it comes to food but whenever I'm given the opportunity to try something new/try out a new cafe, I'm always up for it.

As of late, whenever time permits, I've been making it a point to not just drive to a cafe for plain, boring black coffee. Don't get me wrong, I love it - just like the saying, "I love my men the same way I love my coffee - strong, black and keeping me up all night". I kid. But I do love my coffee - plain, black without any sugar or creamer. Easy on the hips and easy on my digestion because as much as I love seeing my coffee pretty with coffee art, I'm lactose intolerant.

And this limits my boujee-ass taste buds so much.

But as cafes are progressing and taking into consideration our spoilt digestion tracks, it's pretty much effortless to find something to cater for everyone with any problem or preference.

Here's a list of some of the places my lactose-intolerant self has found solace at:

If you haven't already seen how posh everything looks on Instagram - from their interior to their food, right down to their drinks - then you're in for a treat. I've been lucky to enough to experience this cafe twice, once with good company and once on my own.

And as much as I thoroughly relished my dining experience here the first time around, when I went on my own the second time, all I wanted was a good, strong cup of coffee to keep me up while I got some work done.

I ordered a Flat White and requested for them to switch the milk to soy. They did as requested but when it came, as great as it tasted, it didn't look as pleasing. It looked like a more demure, lady-like version of a strong shot of espresso.

Verdict: 5/10 - Try ordering their other coffee selections and stick to milk if you can; the soy options are not the greatest. But their food is something I'd go back for more!

Vatte (Almond latte)

This one I highly recommend. I love their texture and how it tastes on my tongue.

Despite it being Almond Milk, their flavour is still very strong and not as dense as a regular Soy Latte.

And when you order it at their restaurant itself, you'll be served with a shot of chlorophyll water (If I'm not mistaken). It's to cleanse your mouth so that your breath doesn't stink.

Verdict: 9/10 - YES, it's that GOOD!

Eh Matcha Latte

A meeting in Publika lead me to visit this cafe for the first time, albeit out of convenience. I had work to rush and things to get done, and so I needed to occupy a space with a plug to charge my laptop and my phone too, if I was lucky.

Once settled, I placed my order. As I already had my dose of caffeine in the morning, I did not want to overdo it so soon in the day, so I opted for my usual alternative - Green Tea.

I ordered the only familiar-looking 'Green Tea' option that was available and asked them to switch it to soy milk (no sugar, of course) I was surprised that the art was still intact and not just a blob of foam at the top.

Pretty for pictures and a guilt-free option that's rich in flavour.

Verdict: 7/10

This place is one of the top few cafes I've gone back to over and over again - for their food, for their coffee and ambience. I just love it. It's always buzzing with people, from when the store opens for business to when it closes.

I've been there enough times to know what's good on their menu, especially their brunch selection - Smashing Avocado, The Atlantic, Benedict III; you're welcome! My stomach has never left that place feeling anything but happiness. Always.

The times I've been there just to get work done, all I found myself needing was a good cuppa or juice. The pictures above were taken during two separate events/different days.

The first was a pretty regular Soy Latte but still stomach-friendly to last me a few more hours before I needed to rush to the toilet. And the second picture was some Berrylicious smoothie. All they used was berries, yogurt, honey plus ice and whatnot but what I'm trying to say is that it didn't include ice-cream/milk.

Verdict: 8/10 - their coffee is consistently good but for their Berry smoothie, it's worth a visit!

As much as I love juices, I don't usually order them unless I get them on a discount or for a good offer - or if I couldn't do my weekly grocery shopping for fruits.

What lead to me trying out these juice varieties from The Cool Juice was a collaboration opportunity that I simply could not pass up on. Being the kale-eating, yoga pants-wearing and green-eating enthusiast that I am, my heart sang.

I was prescribed The Daily Program and each week, 3 bottles of juices were delivered to my doorstep.

Every bottle was created daily to achieve overall wellness, with delicious fruit pairings that made these juices not just good for your health, but easy to swallow (cause' we all know how some juices can taste so yucky!)

If you've not done a juice cleanse before, go easy on yourself and start off with the Daily Program. With just 3 juices a week, you can incorporate them into your daily diet plan without needing to skip meals.

Rule to live by: You don't have to do anything you don't want to do.

When you have decided, use my code at checkout for RM12 off your first purchase with THE COOL free delivery service!

Code: STAYCOOL0747

Note: With every purchase, RM1 will be donated to Victory of Children & Youth Home to help the poverty children in need for better education and lifestyle.

Verdict: 8/10

If I'm certain of anything, it is that Life Juice does not need an introduction when it comes to the top juice brands sold around the Klang Valley, especially when it comes to producing nutrition-packed juices.

Every time I've had a workout class at Evolvr, every session always ended with me fuelling up with a bottle of Life Juice and a meal at a healthy eatery. I loved my every Saturday combo!

Some of my favourites:

1. Bugs Bunny

2. Red Dragon

3. Lean, Mean and Green

4. Passion

5. Kiss from a rose

6. Sun-kissed

7. Berry Many-low

Verdict: 9/10

P.S - I decided to do a drink-edition because I've always been asked questions like: What do you drink if you're lactose intolerant? What do I drink if I want to get work done at a cafe and not load up on sugary drinks all the time?

Like for instance, if i'm at Starbucks, my order usually is:

1. An Americano/Long Black

2. An espresso soy frappe, double-blend, less ice.

3. A Matcha soy latte/frappe, double-blend, less-ice.

In all honesty, it's a never-ending list even when your dietary options are restricted. Just don't be afraid to ask or seek help before you order!

Love, Krissy xx

Got it! Thanks loves.

bottom of page