top of page

What hippie dreams are made of


The infamous Jalan Mesui is a real crowd-pleaser; tucked in the heart of Jalan Bukit Bintang, Changkat where people near and far come to gather no matter what the cause. Apart from the hawker-food haven that is Jalan Alor, Jalan Mesui hosts a slightly higher range of indulgences - Lucky Tora, Isabel and even Feeka, to name a few.

And last weekend, thanks to an invite from a lovely acquaintance, I was whisked away into the peace and love apogee of the hippie dream - a Woodstock-themed party by Pisco Bar, celebrating their 6th Anniversary.

Ok, so I have a confession to make: I have not been to Pisco Bar, EVER - you'd probably gasp just as wide as my friends did when I told them but it's true.

But on the bright side, I got to have the ultimate Pisco Bar experience with brand new eyes, without it being tainted with any past events and experiences whatsoever.

To kick-start the ultimate Pisco Bar experience, I was invited to a food tasting which showcased Pisco Bar's signature dishes on Peruvian cuisine that's infused with Mexican and Western touches, here and there, to make it their very own. And what better way to start than with drinks...

The Gin & Tonic Tropical was an explosion of refreshing and citrus flavors in my mouth, doused with a couple raspberries and a dried pineapple slice to complete it's look. It was just the drink I needed to whet my tastebuds; leaving it in anticipation for the whole menu that was arranged for us that night.

Perks of being early : the chef whipping out entrees just to keep your stomach from growling so loud that it'll scare off the crowd. I'm kidding, of course. But whatever this is called, it was good - nachos, individually topped with a dollop of tuna, egg and olives.

The second drink was the Pisco Sour - a beautiful romance of Pisco brandy, lime juice, simple syrup, a dash of egg whites and angostura bitters - which came in a close second to the G&T I was so happy to receive, round after round. This tasted just as refreshing as it sounds, especially if you like the taste of citrus fruits dancing on your tongue.

Seafood Cerviche - the extra, extravagant niece to the regular salsa dish; raw tuna, octopus, blue fin and dices of avocado, tomatoes and onions, tossed into a heavenly mess. This is served with sweet potato crisps on the side - YUMM!

Salted Coconut Espresso Martini - tasting as fancy as it sounds, this drink is for the coffee lover who thrives for excitement and surprise because with just one sip, you'd realize that this isn't a drink for the weakest of hearts. With a shot of espresso added to the mix of Golden syrup, kahlua and salted caramel syrup, this tasted more like something I'd have for tea in the afternoon, but with a twist. Taking the atypical coffee culture one step further.

All-hail Mexican-food lovers!

This Chicken Flautas dish was by-far, my favourite; crispy corn tortillas stuffed with shredded chicken. Simple ingredients, beautiful outcome.

But what tickled my tastebuds was the sauce they lathered each tortilla with - I asked everyone around me but it's a secret they're not going to let out of the bag.

And lastly, the mother of all main dishes - Chuleton de Buey. A charcoal-grilled bone-in-rib steak, cooked medium rare and sprinkled with salt; served with creamy potato gratin and sauteed mushroom to complete it's whole look.

When the dish came out, we were in awe of it's magnificence. I am not a steak-lover but I was not going to rid myself of a tasting experience.

We did a pretty good job pacing ourselves for each course, and not just digging in like vultures. So when it was time for the desserts to be brought out, our stomachs were armed and ready.

1. Strawberry Cheesecake Chimichanga.

I've always heard about 'chimichanga's but never got the chance to try it out myself - especially not the sweet version. A chimichanga is basically a deep-friend burrito filled with shredded chicken/beef, refried beans, cheese, salsa and spices, rolled up like a burrito and then pan fried or baked. But the one served to us that night was a dessert version, with strawberry cream cheese filling.

It was a very unforgettable dessert.

2. Churros made to perfection - crisp on the outside, warm and soft on the inside with hot chocolate sauce to dip it in.

Thus, with a belly raised 20th feet above my waist, concluded our Peruvian- fusion food-tasting experience. Despite over-indulging with the food, it was time to take the party upstairs - a stylish space upstairs that offers the ideal layout for a variety of events, called Barrio.

At Barrio, we danced to dance anthems of the century and partied alongside fellow hippie-dreamers who were decked in costume, from head-to-toe. There was a limitless flow of alcohol going around (I had Rose the whole night) and we munched on finger-food that kept us on our toes - [see image below]

Mini Rainbow Burgers.

Want a heads-up? Don't be fooled.

Although these looked like hamburgers. the patty was fried tofu. Changing the game with vegetarian options and perceptions, this didn't taste anything like pathetic cow food.

Looks just like fried chicken, if I'm being honest. And if I didn't tell you that it was tofu, you probably wouldn't know the difference.

I present to you - the birthday cake.

Towards the end of the night, speeches by the founders of Pisco Bar were given and we sang the 'Happy birthday' song at the top of our lungs before the sparklers on the cake burned out.

Hippie buddies - Anita and Jonathan, showing us how it's done at Pisco Bar.

All in one night, I got to taste different cuisines I've never tasted before and go for a party I never thought I'd go for. But just like my experience at Pisco Bar that night, there's always a little magic that comes with experiencing things with brand new eyes, for the first time.

Love, Krissy xx

Got it! Thanks loves.

bottom of page