top of page

Super Boring Club KL // Far from boring


I am, by far, the WORST person to ask the million-dollar question: "Where to eat?"

I'm a creature of habit and usually, when I'm not in the company of other people, especially 'foodies', I go to the same hawker food court that's a stone throw away from my house and order the same dish (either Mee Suah or Yee Mee) from the same uncle whose hair has gone from grey to platinum white in the time I've become a regular.

But my tastebuds have gotten a little adventurous in these past few months and some spare time on a Saturday night led to a food-hunt at a continuously buzzing part of town - Changkat, Bukit Bintang. We braved the jam to get to that part of town from Damansara and honestly, we still had no idea what to eat.

Being 'flexi-eaters' doesn't quite help much in this area either when a decision needs to be made. So we walked around, spotting every cuisine we were 'okay' with having with nothing hit the jackpot until we passed by the infamous Jalan Mesui row. Having tried most of the restaurants there, we were in the mood for something new and exciting.

The Super Boring Club instantly caught our attention with it's luminescent neon lights and their very welcoming 'Welcome Crew' who stood outside the restaurant to bring in the crowd - they certainly did a good job with us.

The menu consists of Korean-Japanese infused dishes that won't put you to sleep. I know I wanted to taste everything on the menu but for only 2 small eaters, our stomachs just would not have it.

So we settled for the Combo 2 which was a grilled platter of marinated chicken, succulent strips of Wagyu beef and lamb (switched from the smoked duck), huge squids and baby octopus. Their combos also come along with 3 refillable side-dishes + various dipping sauces.

It being our first time to a 'grilling-session', we were so thankful that the staff offered to cook everything for us. Apparently, it's part of their job. So if you're unsure of how to cook your meat, or how long it needs to be cooked, don't be shy to ask for assistance.

The waiter who helped us was such a smiley, friendly dude that we even offered him to have a seat next to us.

If you don't already know, the seafood selections were my favourite - the squid, the baby octopus - so juicy, so succulent, so FRESH.

FUN FACT : I only started eating red meat recently, after much persuasion. Before, my answer would always be a big, fat 'NO'. I did not like the taste, the smell... but after trying it in certain cooking styles, I don't really mind it anymore.

Especially when it comes to ordering Pho. That, I love!

To quench out thirst, we ordered a huge glass of the Shochu Sour Chrysanthemum [Shōchū (焼酎) is a Japanese distilled beverage less than 45% alcohol by volume]

For whatever it consisted of, it sure was refreshing, especially after all the oiliness we just consumed. Stopping at just one was a challenge, so we ordered the other interesting flavour - Shochu Sour Yuzu.

Just as delicious, just as refreshing.

To call it a night, we just had to have dessert. Specially customised for the Super Boring Club KL, all ice-creams and sorbets are made by a local artisan - Forty Licks.

I was stuffed to the brim but when it comes to dessert, I like telling myself that, "Dessert always goes to the heart".

So without much hesitation, I asked the waiter if I could sample a little bit of everything. I thought I'd be turned down but they happily obliged and brought out 4 little porcelain tasting cups.

Flavours: lemon ginger sorbet, yuzu sorbet, cornflakes ice-cream and the last and most unique of all, kimchi ice-cream.

I like them all but my personal favourites have got to be the sorbets for how it cleansed my palette and how it was light enough for a dessert after a wholesome meal.

There's no reason why you shouldn't visit this restaurant - good variety of fusion food, fresh marinated meats and seafood, reasonably priced and honestly, the more the merrier (so you can order and try more dishes).

They even got you covered on the cleanliness part as they clean their grills daily.

A place to eat, drink and chill in good company; also helps that the music wasn't playing so loud.

Gah, I'm already hungry again from writing this post.

Signing off, K x


Got it! Thanks loves.

bottom of page