top of page

Bare brick + plant-powered promise

  • Location: Chinatown, KL

This charming part of town always wins GOLD for me - although my first choice would always still be Bangsar, I can't deny that other parts of town have boomed into existence ever since I crawled out of my turtle-shell.

An invitation to a soft-launch led me to this part of town on a sunny Sunday afternoon after an eventful first-half of the day spent in church and then at a workout session. Sundays are never usually this eventful for me but I was thankful I got to do something other than being cooped up in my room.

So, the the kind soul who invited me out, THANK YOU.

There is character in every corner when you're at Pasar Seni, particularly along the lane that leads you to a bright pink block, where a funky-retro stairwell directs you to the neighbourhood's new-comer, The Hungry Tapir.

The Hungry Tapir opened it's doors on the 19th January 2020 to their closest friends and family for their soft-launch. The whole event was in full-swing from start to finish, where we nibbled on herbivore-inspired dishes and sipped on one-of-a-kind rice wine cocktails. But if I'm being honest, I was more in awe of my surroundings.

This space is every Interior Designer's dream come true - sky-high ceilings, huge-arched windows and walls of bare brick. The play of black and white colours added a nice sophisticated touch too, with the owner's selection of vintage, rattan furniture. It is little wonder how they put everything together so seamlessly as I soon found out that the owner specializes in Interior Design.

Now everything makes sense.

As beautiful as this space is, the food served here is just as scrumptious too.

If you ever catch yourself dreaming of fried tofu patties, tempeh coleslaw, gluten-free jackfruit yellow curry, spaghetti with vegan meatballs in house-made tomato sauce, oatmeal bars and more, you know where to go.

_______________

The Hungry Tapir

135, First Floor, Petaling Street,

50000, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Opening hours from 4pm - late (closed on Tues)


Got it! Thanks loves.

bottom of page