top of page

Intentional dining @ Knowhere Bangsar


Fav word of the week: Intentional

This week, I'm making it a point to do everything intentionally - being intentional from what I say to others or what I read about, to being intentional about what I invest my time in and the kind of food I choose to nurture my body with. Every little thing counts.

Even more so as I type this today after having just recovered from a tonsillitis infection.

Health in itself is a gift and after spending too many days in bed making sure my body gets all the rest it needs and eating plain, gooey porridge, it was time for a change.

So, when I received an invitation to a food review session at Knowhere, Bangsar, I couldn't possibly turn it down - my tastebuds were already tingling for a nice switch-up! I immediately set a date, invited my siblings and made it a party.

Truth be told, among my siblings and I, I am probably the least adventurous when it comes to food and trying new cuisines. I usually stick to what I know and even when I'm at home, I make myself simple meals that don't even involve much cooking or any effort of that sort. I'm terrible, I know.

That's also the reason why when it came to choosing which dishes to try on their new menu, I was willing to let my siblings decide for the night. We all agreed on one thing though: "to choose dishes we would never usually order" and that's how our night began.

TAPAS : Smoked Canard & Plum - thinly-cut strips of house-smoked duck served with plum sauce and peach salsa. Each individual strip was a perfect union of salty and sweet in simplistic harmony.

PIZZA : Nang Nak Knowhere (jackfruit, onions, tomatoes and mozzarella) and Italian Mutton Kari (classic mutton curry on Italian crust pizza with a tomato base)

This was really interesting union of flavors especially compared to the usual crowd-pleases. The Nang Nak Knowhere served up a nice twist of sweetness with each bite that could double up as a dessert too, if that's what you feel like. On the other end, the Italian Mutton Kari had just the right amount of spiciness accompanied with a generous serving of tender chunks of mutton.

I'm not a big mutton eater (or a Nangka one, for that matter) but the latter rocked my tastebuds!

RARE & ROASTED : Australian Grain-fed Rib Eye Steak - 300gm prime cut of Australian rib eye steak cooked to medium-rare perfection, and then served with chimichurri and roasted baby tomatoes.

PASTA : Timbale Ratatoille - mixed roasted vegetables in a rich tomato-based sauce on el dente angel hair pasta. I like how this was baked with a good amount of cheese and you can taste the crunchiness from the roasted vegetables. Simple but tastes just like how my grandma makes it.

SLIDERS : Un-quarter Pounder - thick and juicy house-made beef patty with mushrooms, gherkins and peppers on a bed of arugula served with soubise sauce.

Even after all those dishes above, my brother cheekily hinted that the dinner won't be over until he tried one of their burgers so our host got us the best one yet. I'm not a big burger connoisseur but I trust my palette enough to know when it tastes a good burger - and this was one of it. The buns were nicely buttered and charred before it was stuffed and OH MY GOD, whatever that sauce was on the side - WOW. It was my first time tasting soubise sauce and it's basically sauteed onions added to a basic bachamel sauce. But the flavours that were bursting in my mouth; I dipped everything I could in that sauce and it was nothing short of 'YUM!'.

And now, for my favourite part: DRINKS

Before we jumped right into tasting their cocktail menu, our lovely host got us a round of Tuak shots to whet our palette. If you've been to Knowhere (or have yet to visit), trust that a round of Tuak shots is never enough.

At Knowhere, their cocktail menu is now seasonal and this time, with new additions.

Gone with the Wind (1939) - As de Picos Tropical, Lacto Jackfruit, Pandan syrup, Citrid Acid and Aquafaba.

I'm usually a G&T kinda gal but when it comes to cocktails, I like mine sweet and sour. I loved the effort they took to create that foam cloud above the cocktail and when you sip it, you taste a little froth that comes with a fruity, sweet finish.

Slumdog Millionaire (2008) - Plantation Guatemala, Campari Goji, Pomegranate Cane Chipotle, Toasted Cumin Seeds, Curry Leaves, Tamarind.

I wondered why they named it as such until I got a taste of it - it tastes just like RASSAM! But it wasn't the typical rassam you get at an Indian restaurant over banana leaf; this was a more toned down version of it's usual spices to create a somewhat pleasant cocktail. Worth the try!

City of God (2001) - this comes in 2 flavours; 1) Assam Boi and Winter Banana and 2) Capucana Cachaca, coconut water, calamansi & assam boi.

I chose the 2nd one, because it had more ingredients and a fancy name of something I didn't know of but wanted to try. And honestly, it tastes just like the calamansi juice at your local Chinese foodcourt, but with a hint of alcohol to keep you happy. Refreshing and cooling.

____________________

SNIPPETS

Meet my sister, Claire - whom most people don't know about but if they do, they think we're twins but she's the better half of us two.

And my brother, Jonathan - whom most people think is my boyfriend because he's always with me at social events. And I drag him to food reviews and events too because his work is his craft.

What's food photography if you don't stand on the chair to get a flatlay shot, RIGHT?

DECOR : The inspiration behind this huge mural that is the epitome of this bar/restaurant came from Marvel. Named after the inter-dimensional crossroads where intergalactic travelers from all walks of life gather in the Marvel Universe, Knowhere Bangsar aims to be a refuge designed for the curios travelers of Telawi.

Each key-hole was painted by our very own local artists - the most prominent are Fritilldea and Fai Zakaria.

Fritilldea recently had a collaboration with Obey for a pop-up at Gillman Barracks in Singapore, and Fai Zakaria is a local fine artist to be reckoned with.

And last but not least, a huge 'THANK YOU' to our lovely host of the evening, Kim. Thank you feeding our insatiable appetite!

- Love, K

______________

KNOWHERE BANGSAR

50, Jalan Maarof, Bangsar, 59100,

Wilayah Persekutuan, KL

Opening house: MON to FRI - 4pm till late

SAT & SUN - 11am till late


Got it! Thanks loves.

bottom of page